Ten Thousand Skies Above You – Claudia Gray

Ten Thousand Skies Above You17234659

By Claudia Gray

Genre: Parallel Universes (is that even a genre?)

Reading Level: Medium/Difficult

Pages: 424

Review: 5/5

Synopsis:

Ever since she used the Firebird, her parents’ invention, to cross into alternate dimensions, Marguerite has caught the attention of enemies who will do anything to force her into helping them dominate the multiverse—even hurting the people she loves. She resists until her boyfriend, Paul, is attacked and his consciousness scattered across multiple dimensions.

Marguerite has no choice but to search for each splinter of Paul’s soul. The hunt sends her racing through a war-torn San Francisco, the criminal underworld of New York City, and a glittering Paris where another Marguerite hides a shocking secret. Each world brings Marguerite one step closer to rescuing Paul. But with each trial she faces, she begins to question the destiny she thought they shared.

The second book in the Firebird trilogy, Ten Thousand Skies Above You features Claudia Gray’s lush, romantic language and smart, exciting action, and will have readers clamoring for the next book. (Goodreads)

Links to purchase:

Opinion:

Hello my fellow bibliophiles! Let me just start off by saying that this is a series that everybody needs to be reading right now; I cannot believe there is not more of a buzz around it. Even after the first couple of pages I was completely hooked on the story.

belle-i-love-reading

I will mention this briefly though, that I had some issues with the main character, Marguerite. Of course, everything she has had to go through has been horribly traumatic and awful, but when she is “done” – sort of – instead of immediately fixing the main storyline’s problem, she goes off to take some “personal time.” Can we not? I felt like that was a major weakness in her character. Now that I have read the novel, I can understand why the author did it that way, but still… me no likey.

I would have just told her to get a grip.

On a more positive note, I love the development of the different characters, and you could really tell the depth of them, and how there is more than the surface-level perfection. Especially through their parallel-selves.

Speaking of perfection – that cover man, that cover. This is a seriously gorgeous series, and I would have bought this book anyway just to display it on my shelf.

The whole story progressed very nicely – with a very good arc – and I am very excited for what is going to happen in the next book. ESPECIALLY CONSIDERING THAT CLIFF-HANGER OH MY GAAHHDDD. I was so not expecting that. I am a very gullible person, and I’ll almost never anticipagte those kinds of endings, but I seriously doubt that any reader had been expecting it.

tumblr_inline_n94odpfbeu1sybzrb

And when I checked to see when the next book is going to be published, it just said 2016? Vague much? Especially when I need it now 😦

Anyway, I thought this was a really good second book, and I am very excited to see where it is going next!

Have a wonderfully bookish day, and I hope to see you soon!

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

