Let’s Talk About Twilight

Hello my fellow bibliophiles! Lets get this conversation going… Twilight.

I know that recently people have liked to hate on Twilight, to discuss its many faults and make fun of it. But today, I am going to admit something that not everybody knows about me. I am a Twiheart. A quite hardcore one, actually. But look around you? Twihearts have almost been forced to go underground, because liking the books and the movies is like inviting criticism. If I even so much as mention it at school, a tirade immediately follows.

If you didn’t know, then last week was Twilight‘s 10th Anniversary, and I would like to take this opportunity to praise the franchise for all the things it did right.

Twilight explores the power of love. And not just the love between a teenager and a 100-year-old vampire. It thinks about the love Bella has for her mother, and her sometimes complicated relationship with her father. Her love for her daughter. For her friends. Yes, most of all her love for Edward, but it is incorrect of people to claim that that is all there is to it.

And Stephenie Meyer’s writing? Can we please stop dissing it. There is absolutely nothing wrong with it, other than the fact that it perhaps isn’t always as good as Brandon Sanderson. Some of her phrases are utterly beautiful. “And so the lion fell in love with the lamb.” Isn’t that just a gorgeous line? I think so.

Frankly, I just want to thank Stephenie Meyer. Thank you for writing Twilight, and for opening up the world of books to me. Harry Potter and Twilight were the two series that got me into reading; a pastime that has somehow become one of the most important parts of my life. I want to be a writer, partly because I would like to create a story that has an impact on people. And Twilight, indisputably, has impacted many.

So, lets spread the love guys. I am Twiheart, and there is nothing wrong with that. Twihearts should not have to feel embarrassed for liking what is a wonderful story. So… TWILIGHT FOREVER! And fuck the haters.

*Sorry for cussing – I try not to, but this just felt like one of those moments.

Leave a Reply

