Stone Cold Touch – Jennifer L. Armentrout

Stone Cold Touch

Stone Cold Touch by Jennifer L. Armentrout cover image.
Stone Cold Touch by Jennifer L. Armentrout cover image.

By Jennifer L. Armentrout

Genre:Young Adult/Urban Fantasy

Reading Level: Medium(ish)

Pages: 464

Review: 5/5

Synopsis:

Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task for a seventeen-year-old who’s pretty sure things can’t get worse. Her impossibly gorgeous best friend, Zayne, is forever off-limits thanks to the mysterious powers of her soul-stealing kiss. The Warden clan that has always protected her is suddenly keeping dangerous secrets. And she can barely think about Roth, the wickedly hot demon prince who understood her in ways no one else could.

But sometimes rock bottom is only the beginning. Because suddenly Layla’s powers begin to evolve, and she’s offered a tantalizing taste of what has always been forbidden. Then, when she least expects it, Roth returns, bringing news that could change her world forever. She’s finally getting what she always wanted, but with hell literally breaking loose and the body count adding up, the price may be higher than Layla is willing to pay… (Goodreads)

Links to purchase:

Opinion: 

Hello my fellow bibliophiles! So, in the spirit of the fact that I just ordered the third book, I thought that I would quickly type up a review to the second one. Like I have said on this blog, time and time again, I really love Jennifer L. Armentrout, and this book proves to be no exception.

Honestly, her writing isn’t perfect – okay, I acknowledge that. BUT, I love every second when I am reading her work, and shouldn’t that be the real point of storytelling. Yes, fabulous sentences and beautifully constructed metaphors that make you cry are great, but Armentrout transports me into her books, and I become so invested in her characters that I forget where I am. I think that this kind of embodies the real purpose of storytelling; the magic of it. 11373880

Okay, now that I have that serious bit out of the way – OH MY GOD, Roth is so attractive. Like, I need something to wipe the drool off my chin (maybe that is why I love Armentrout – all of her guys are so… *sigh* perfect). However, what I really enjoyed with this particular piece is the development we see within Roth, and how he doesn’t just remain as an attractive placeholder. Oh my God, he actually feels things! (Is that too much of a spoiler?)

Also, I am really against triangle-dramas – I find them spectacularly annoying, and it is perhaps the main reason it took me so long to pick this book up – but I think Armentrout does a good job it; of describing all of the confusing feelings that Layla is feeling, without making her seem hypocritical and, frankly, bitchy (looking at you, Zoey Redbird, straight at you).

Anyway, I thought that this was a great second book, and I am SO thrilled to be getting the third one – less than a week! (She better choose Roth though, Zayne is bleh after what he did in this book!)

Anyway… have a wonderfully bookish evening, and I will see you soon!

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

