August TBR

Good morning, my fellow bibliophiles! It is August again, and I officially have one month off school! YAY! I barely survived my 14 exams, but here I am – on the other end.

i-tried-gif

… Anyway, now that I have so much time, I am going to tell you guys about the books that I am planning to read in August – I may be a tad optimistic, but I am traveling, and I can marathon like two/three books on a 16 hour flight (true story). So, here we go!

  • The Invasion of the Tearling by Erika Johansen. This is the book I am reading right now, and I am about 20 pages in. It is the second book in the Queen of the Tearling series, and thus far, I am loving it. I adored the first one, and I will soon post a review on it. I don’t want to say too much – I don’t want to spoil anyone – but pick this book up if you see it. It is so good.
  • The Princess Bride by William Goldman. I saw this book on sale the other day in the bookstore, and I couldn’t resist. I am a huge fan of the movie, but I have yet to read the book. This is one of those books that I am planning on marathoning on my flight. I am very excited.
  • Snow Like Ashes by Sara Raasch. These next three books I got from my sister, so thank you Ella. We have a system, in which I buy her things from Typo – here in South Africa – and then she’ll buy books for me from Adlibris (a Swedish, online book shopping website). I have heard some pretty good things about this one, and the cover is gorgeous, so I can’t wait.
  • Cruel Beauty by Rosamund Hodge. Again, thank you Ella. The only thing I know about this book is that it is gorgeous, and a Beauty and the Beast retelling. However, Beauty and the Beast might just be my favorite disney movie (for some reason I relate to Belle 😉 ) and I am super pumped to start this one.
  • A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. Another Beauty and the Beast retelling – am I sensing a theme? Ella ordered this book for me a while ago, because I was growing impatient as I couldn’t find it at my bookstore, and sure enough, the next time I go to the bookstore, there it is. I HAVE BEEN WAITING SINCE MAY. *Breathing rapidly in anger.* But soon, in a week, I will have it.

d0ab7c0536aa3e6f422f578ebf7e219a2461ae3d07e80ce84416029b92903051

  • Every Last Breathe by Jennifer L. ArmentroutI am a huge Jennifer L. Armentrout fan, so of course I am going to order this book ASAP. I am planning on ordering a couple of books to Sweden (online shopping in Sweden is regrettably, a lot cheaper than going to the bookstore), and whilst I have not made up my mind on which books I am ordering, this one is definitely ending up in my shopping cart. I must find out if she choses Roth or not!
  • Saga Volume 1 by Brian K. Vaughan (Writer), Fiona Staples (Artist)First thing first, I am not a graphic novel fan. I have read Maus and Persepolis for some literature courses, but that’s it. However, I am interested in the genre as a whole, and I love fantasy, and I have heard great things about this one. So, maybe I am not exactly planning to read this one, but I am thinking about it. If I do decide to buy a graphic novel this month, it will probably be this one.

And… those are all the books I have planned. I am going to the bookstore on Monday, and I am ordering some books, and I will visit my favorite bookstore in Sweden, and they have some bookstores at the airport. All in all, I think that I will get a lot of reading done this month. Guys, I haven’t read anything in three weeks because I have been so stressed with my exams – it is like a part of me is missing!

Anyway, have a wonderfully bookish day, and I will see you soon!

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

