Reading Corner #3

Hello everyone!

So… I know, I know – I’ve been bad. Has it really been 3 weeks since I posted anything? Whoops *looks peevish.*

Sometimes life just catches up with you, and I’ve had a pretty crazy couple of weeks. Honestly, my extra-curriculars have increased by a lot, and for the first time in my life, I have something to do every single day except the weekend. 3 times a week I get up at 5 am to get ready and go to extra AP courses (for some reason), and things have been tough for some social reasons as well (boys suck).

However, I have decided to forgo reality and throw myself into reading! Yay! Honestly, you can expect a lot of reviews coming from this end… ’cause I’ve read a lot of books.

I just finished The Mime Order by Samantha Shannon and it was epic – it was SUPER expensive, but I don’t care. It was worth every single dime spent. If you are interested, the first book is called The Bone Season, and I’ll leave a link right here for you to check it out.

Okay, so my sister owed me a few things for various reasons (trust me, this is a LONG story), but, basically, it ended with her buying me three books: The Murder Complex by Lindsey Cummings, White Hot Kiss by Jennifer L. Armentrout, and Stone Cold Touch by Jennifer L. Armentrout.

The Murder Complex was actually quite good, but I didn’t love it so much that my face exploded. A reviewing is coming on it, so hold on to your horses! It will be here soon.

whitehotkissI made my sister buy me a copy of White Hot Kiss because I thought that the title is embarrassing, the cover is embarrassing, and it is about gargoyles and demons (which, admittedly, is pretty cool). I didn’t want it specifically linked back to me… however, I LOVED it. I am so happy that my friends made me read it –  I marathoned the whole thing in one day (from 9 am to 2 am), and it was worth practically failing my math test for it. I mean, gargoyles and demons. Yes please! Also, Roth is… YUM. He can take me to the underworld anytime.

Right now I am reading a Swedish trilogy , where it first one is called Cirkeln (The Circle) by Mats Strandberg and Sara Bergmark Elfgren, and I really like it. A movie is coming on it, and I am going to buy it as soon as I return to Sweden – unfortunately, my parents will not sponsor a trip which involves me going to Sweden, watching the movie at the cinema, and returning to South Africa. If you aren’t Swedish, but still think that the idea of witches and evilness sounds cool, I’ll leave a link for the translated version right here.

I am on the second one, Eld (Fire) and thus far, it is also awesome. The books are a wee bit creepy, so perhaps avoid reading these by yourself at 3 am in the morning.

I promise I’ll be better! No more 3 weeks waiting for the next post!

I’ll see you later!

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

