Firelight – Kristen Callihan

Firelight

Firelight by Kristen Callihan cover image.
Firelight by Kristen Callihan cover image.

By Kristen Callihan

Genre: Historical Paranormal Fiction

Reading Level: Medium

Pages: 384

Review: 4 / 5

Synopsis:

London, 1881

Once the flames are ignited . . .

Miranda Ellis is a woman tormented. Plagued since birth by a strange and powerful gift, she has spent her entire life struggling to control her exceptional abilities. Yet one innocent but irreversible mistake has left her family’s fortune decimated and forced her to wed London’s most nefarious nobleman.

They will burn for eternity . . .

Lord Benjamin Archer is no ordinary man. Doomed to hide his disfigured face behind masks, Archer knows it’s selfish to take Miranda as his bride. Yet he can’t help being drawn to the flame-haired beauty whose touch sparks a passion he hasn’t felt in a lifetime. When Archer is accused of a series of gruesome murders, he gives in to the beastly nature he has fought so hard to hide from the world. But the curse that haunts him cannot be denied. Now, to save his soul, Miranda will enter a world of dark magic and darker intrigue. For only she can see the man hiding behind the mask. (Goodreads)

Links to purchase:

Opinion:

Hello everybody! So, I picked up this book the other day – a total impulse buy – and then I proceeded to spend the entire afternoon reading it. I really, really liked it, but I had some issues with it, that prevents me from LOVING it.

For example, there is a really peculiar scene in the beginning, when they are “warming up” to each other. I’m not going to spoil anything, but that scene, overall, made me cringe. Like, I could understand what the author was trying to do, but it came across as awkward, and I ended up sort of skipping the entire section. If you’ve read the book, let me know what you thought of the scene down in the comment’s section (and yes, you know exactly which scene I am talking about).

Also, some of the choices that the characters made went against what they had agreed upon orally. Okay, so it is hard to go through with the things that you’ve promised to go through, but come on. Just do what you said you’d do. And be honest with each other. I seriously hate it when the author is trying to create suspense and drama by having the characters lie to each other, and do things no real person would do.

However, I really enjoyed reading how the character’s developed with each other, and how they became partners of sorts. They could rely on each other, when they couldn’t rely on anybody else – which is super romantic. Yes, I am a total romantic, and I find the whole them-against-the-world aspect incredibly romantic and touching.

As I was reading, I drew some parallels between different stories, which might just be my over-active imagination, but… I thought of Phantom of the Opera with the whole mask thing, as well as Beauty and the Beast. Just me? You as well? Let me know – comment.

Also, I picked this book up in the YA section of my bookstore, and it turned out to be a lot steamier than I thought it would be, so I just thought I’d give you a warning, if that kind of stuff grosses you out.

Anyway, have a wonderfully bookish day!

/Emilia

One thought on “Firelight – Kristen Callihan

Leave a Reply

