Ruby Red – Kerstin Gier

Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier cover image.
Ruby Red by Kerstin Gier cover image.

Ruby Red

By Kerstin Gier

Genre: YA Fiction / Fantasy

Reading Level: Medium

Pages: 322

Review: 5/5

Synopsis:

Although I had never seen him before, I recognized him immediately. I’d have known his voice anywhere. This was the guy I’d seen on my last journey back in time.

Or more precisely, the one who’d kissed my doppelganger while I was hiding behind the curtain in disbelief.

Sixteen-year-old Gwen lives with her extended – and rather eccentric – family in an exclusive London neighborhood. In spite of her ancestors’ peculiar history, she’s had a relatively normal life so far. The time-traveling gene that runs like a secret thread through the female half of the family is supposed to have skipped over Gwen, so she hasn’t been introduced to “the mysteries,” and can spend her time hanging out with her best friend, Lesly. It comes as an unwelcome surprise when she starts taking sudden, uncontrolled leaps into the past.

She’s totally unprepared for time travel, not to mention all that comes with it: fancy clothes, archaic manners, a mysterious secret society, and Gideon, her time-traveling counterpart. He’s obnoxious, a know-it-all, and possibly the best-looking guy she’s seen in any centrury . . . . (Goodreads)

Links to purchase:

Opinion:

Hello everybody! So, I finally did it! I managed to find a copy of Ruby Red – after all my waiting. ARGH! And I found it at the weirdest place, but it was SUPER CHEAP. My school was having this book sale that I wasn’t aware of, so I just show up at school, and there ARE BOOKS EVERYWHERE! Honestly, it was quite glorious.  Anyway, so there I was, walking along the books, and that is when I saw it – Ruby Red. It was quite the shock, let me tell you that. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any money with me, and I only saw one copy of the book. However, the booksale thingy was going to be going on all week, so, I’ll admit it – I hid the book underneath other books. I know, I know – bad Emilia, bad. But guys, you know you would have done the same – when you need the book you need the book.

Anyway, I should be getting on with the reviewing side of things. I LOVED IT! Absolutely, positively, loved. I mean, I thought that my expectations of it were getting a bit too high, but guys – IT WAS EVEN BETTER than my romanticized view of it.

I really love the whole time-traveling idea, just the concept is so… cool? You know. Geir also has interesting and unique elements surrounding the time-traveling, however – like the chronograph concept is fascinating. At first I also thought the whole gem thing would feel juvenile, but it doesn’t in the slightest.

I also really liked Gwen. She isn’t the most vocal person alive, but oh my god, she is so sassy in her own head, which I relate to. I mean, we’re not all Rose Hathaways who just blurt out whatever insult we’re thinking – most of us are more like Gwen; we think the insults in our head, and are able to still function around the person we are insulting.

Gideon, as well… he is just… YUM! I mean, at first I was kind of pissed off at him because of his over-the-top rudeness, but then the more you got to know him, and the more Gideon got to know Gwen… well. Guys, the feels are strong with this one! (Get it? Get it? Star Wars?)

I now NEED to get the second book, considering how this stupid book ended! I mean, for everybody else who read it and like died, you know what I am referring to.

I saw the movie as well, but I did see it before I read the book, so I kind of already knew what I was getting myself into. Don’t see the movie first, is my recommendation. I mean, the thing is, I just couldn’t get the actors out of my mind when I was reading the book, and that really bugged me.

Anyway, have a wonderful Valentine’s Day!

/Emilia

One thought on “Ruby Red – Kerstin Gier

Leave a Reply

