January Wrap-Up!

Hello everyone! So, with January just about over, I thought I would write a post on all the books I read in January. I am really, really, pleased with the amount of reading I got done this month, but I know that it was mainly because I had a lot of vacation time. So, these are the books I read this month:

  1. The Way of Kings Part 1 & 2 by Brandon Sanderson. Okay… so I don’t want to say that I thought this was better than the Mistborn trilogy, but HOLY COW IT WAS BETTER THAN  EVERYTHING! I just loved these two books, and they were just so… ARGH! Wonderful. I loved them. Loved. LOVED.
  2. Me Before You by Jojo Moyes. I cried. A lot. Like a baby. This book was a lot to handle, and I am still trying to process it – review coming soon though, so I won’t say anything more about it.
  3. Wake by Amanda Hocking. Yeah… no. I am sorry, but this book didn’t do it for me – the characters were awkward, the plot was strange, the language wasn’t so great, the romance… just nothing about this book really did it for me.
  4. Anna Dressed in Blood by Kendare Blake. Okay, so word to the wise – don’t read this book at 2 am, and then have to go downstairs to get a glass of water. That is what I did, and honestly? I was so scared. Other than that, I really loved this book. It was great, and I am going to pick up the next one in the duo-logy.
  5. The Chaos of Stars by Kirsten White. This was an easy and light read after Anna Dressed in Blood, which honestly, I needed. I really liked this book – if you just need something fun for a couple of hours, this is definitely the book for you.

Skärmavbild 2015-02-05 kl. 9.33.15 em

 

  1. Halo by Alexandra Adornetto. So, I finally managed to get a copy of this book, for 50 rand no less (that is, like, $4), and I liked it, but I didn’t love it. Some of the stuff going on was just a little too sickly sweet for my taste, plus I’d been looking for this book for a really long time, so my expectations were kind of high… I might get the second book if I can find it.
  2. American Vampire by Jennifer Armintrout. I was really excited when I thought that I had discovered that Jennifer L. Armentrout had written a book about vampires… except when I saw that it was a ArmItrout that has written a book about vampires. Like, really? And then this book was just kind of weird and boring  – and I honestly didn’t like any of the characters.
  3. The Girl in the Steel Corset by Kady Cross. Now we’re talking! I absolutely love this book! It had just the right amounts of everything, and I really am looking forward to getting the next books in the series. If you like Steampunk, then buy this book.
  4. The Retribution of Mara Dyer by Michelle Hodkin. And the books just keep on getting better and better. Another book series that I love, and it felt kind of weird when it came to an end. I picked up the first Mara Dyer book when it came out, and… I really liked the trilogy, but I was kind of sad to see it end? There were a couple of weird things that happened, but overall, I was really pleased with the conclusion.
  5. Just One Day by Gayle Forman. HOLY AFWGVEQB! Okay… so, that was awesome! I was so excited when I found this book (in the most random store ever, FYI), and I spent all night staying up and finishing this book. But I love it. However I am kind of jealous of the main character – I want to have a romantic day in Paris!
  6. Just One Night by Gayle Froman. Yeah, okay, maybe I should have read the second book before reading the novella, but I couldn’t help myself. And I just died when I read this. It was so good – and I needed some closure after the previous ending.

Skärmavbild 2015-02-05 kl. 9.33.30 em

  1. The Selection Trilogy by Kiera Cass. Yes, I got the whole series and marathoned it over a weekend. Yes, it was wonderful. I still feel ambivalent about it, because there were some parts that I thought were really strange, and other parts that I thought were amazing… so yeah, I have the mixed feelings.

Skärmavbild 2015-02-05 kl. 9.34.01 em

And those… were all the 15 books I read in January! I don’t normally read that much – but, I have been sick and on vacation, which has been good for my TBR pile.

Unfortunately, right now I am going through a bit of a reading slump – must be those 15 books – so I don’t know how many books I’ll read in February… plus I have a lot of tests coming up. I’ll try!

But I hope you had a good reading month, and I’ll see you soon!

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

