The Selection – Kiera Cass

The Selection

The Selection by Kier Cass cover image.
The Selection by Kiera Cass cover image.

By Kiera Cass

Genre: YA fiction / Dystopian(ish)

Reading Level: Easy/Medium

Pages: 336

Review: 4 / 5

Synopsis:

For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself–and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined. (Goodreads)

Links to purchase:

Opinion:

Hello everyone! So, I have finally gotten around to reading The Selection by Kiera Cass – I know! I must be the only person in the entire YA-sphere to not have read it! However I am really excited that I finally managed to finish it. So… to my actual review!

I must say that I have mixed feelings regarding this book, but generally, I enjoyed the book a lot more thoroughly than I thought I would – to the point where I’ve ordered the second book via my bookstore (and I should get the call that it has arrived any moment now – eeek!).

I have some issues with The Selection, however. The writing wasn’t exactly flawless (but better than I thought it would be), the main character kind of annoyed me at certain times, just the way she was thinking (but again, she wasn’t as annoying as I thought she would be). Honestly, my major issue was a plot issue regarding Aspen – her secret boyfriend. His actions just didn’t make sense to me – at all, sometimes. SPOILER ALERT! I mean, when he wants America to join the Selection, I mean what? I get that he wants her to have a better life and all that, but seriously? I wouldn’t want my boyfriend to join the Bachelorette, honestly.

That being said, I found their caste system really fascinating – and the monarchy, I really like. What can I say, a good prince is good. Also, the whole idea of it all, the Selection, is just interesting. I would’ve liked it more if Maxon had been more adverse to the idea of the Selection, but then again it is what he was grown up with.

So, even though this book was a little over the top, and I had several issues with it, I was pleasantly surprised by it. Although, I initially did have a really low expectation of this book. But, if you are in a reading slump and just want something fun and light to read, don’t hesitate to pick this book up as I did!

Hope you have a bibliophilic day!

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

