Pure by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Pure by Jennifer L. Armentrout cover image.
Pure by Jennifer L. Armentrout cover image.

Pure (Covenant #2)

By Jennifer L. Armentrout

Genre: Fantasy

Reading Level: Easy/Medium

Pages: 329

Review: 4.75 / 5

Synopsis:

There is need. And then there is Fate. Being destined to become some kind of supernatural electrical outlet isn’t exactly awesome–especially when Alexandria’s other half is everywhere she goes. Seth’s in her training room, outside her classes, and keeps showing up in her bedroom–so not cool. Their connection does have some benefits, like staving off her nightmares of the tragic showdown with her mother, but it has no effect on what Alex feels for the forbidden, pure-blooded Aiden. Or what he will do–and sacrifice–for her. When daimons infiltrate the Covenants and attack students, the gods send furies–lesser gods determined to eradicate any threat to the Covenants and to the gods, and that includes the Apollyon–and Alex. And if that and hordes of aether-sucking monsters didn’t blow bad enough, a mysterious threat seems willing to do anything to neutralize Seth, even if that means forcing Alex into servitude–or killing her. When the gods are involved, some decisions can never, ever be undone. (Goodreads)

Links to purchase:

Opinion:

Okay, so I know what you are thinking, “Another Jennifer L. Armentrout book, Emilia? Really?” YES REALLY! The thing is, I recently acquired a lot of her books (after borrowing the entire Lux series at my library and loving it), and they are all so fantastic, that I cannot stop talking about them, about Armentrout. So, more Armentrout for you guys to read about.

Again, this is the second book in the Covenant series, so I will try not to spoil much, but if you haven’t read the first one, what are you even doing on my blog? Stop reading, and go and get it! But, anyways – spoilers may happen, you have been warned.

Armentrout is ruining my life… like, seriously guys, these books are all I can think about (hence the numerous posts on her books). As Pure is the second book in the covenant series, I had assumed that it wasn’t going to be as good as the first one, but guys, this one is just as good.

There were some scenes and situations that I had a little bit of an issue with, mainly because it was going against my shipping of Alex and Aidan, so that isn’t as much of an author issue as a personal issue… If you have read the book, then you know what I am referring to… stupid Seth.

The only reason that this book hasn’t received 5 / 5 is because of one decision that Alex makes that has some serious consequences. It works great for the plot, it makes sense, considering the character, but I so profoundly disagree with it, that I cannot bring myself to give the full 5. To be honest, I am more like Aidan than Alex, and so sometimes I just kind of clash with her.

However, that being said, I still adore her, this book, and everything… just sometimes, she makes stupid choices.

I recommend this book to anybody who is even remotely interested in reading (and is a girl… this is not really a guy book), and, like, seriously, stop reading my blog and go and get it!

Anyway, I hope you have a wonderful day!

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

