Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Onyx (Lux #2)

By Jennifer L. Armentrout

Genre: Science Fiction

Reading Level: Easy/Medium

Pages: 366

Review: 5 / 5

Synopsis:

Being connected to Daemon Black sucks…

Thanks to his alien mojo, Daemon’s determined to prove what he feels for me is more than a product of our bizarro connection. So I’ve sworn him off, even though he’s running more hot than cold these days. But we’ve got bigger problems.

Something worse than the Arum has come to town…

The Department of Defense are here. If they ever find out what Daemon can do and that we’re linked, I’m a goner. So is he. And there’s this new boy in school who’s got a secret of his own. He knows what’s happened to me and he can help, but to do so, I have to lie to Daemon and stay away from him. Like that’s possible. Against all common sense, I’m falling for Daemon. Hard.

But then everything changes…

I’ve seen someone who shouldn’t be alive. And I have to tell Daemon, even though I know he’s never going to stop searching until he gets the truth. What happened to his brother? Who betrayed him? And what does the DOD want from them—from me?

No one is who they seem. And not everyone will survive the lies… (Goodreads)

Links to purchase:

Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout cover image.
Onyx by Jennifer L. Armentrout cover image.

Opinion:

Jennifer L. Armentrout might as well be my favorite author out there. Maybe, guys. I know that she isn’t always the most fantastic writer out there, writing-wise, but the stories she creates, the characters, everything is utterly fantastic, and Onyx is no different.

Before I start with the “review” aspect, I just wanted to let you know that this is the second book in the Lux series, so if you haven’t read it, this might contain some spoilers… you have been warned.

This book, guys… ARGH! It is just so wonderful – it has everything that I want. And Daemon Black, guys! Daemon Black! I know he is kind of a jerk sometimes, and by that, I mean that he is a REAL jerk sometimes. In Obsidian, I liked him, but not as much as I was pissed at him. He was snarky and sarcastic, and swoon-worthy, but the way he treated Katy was quite infuriating.

In this book, guys, we have still have the snarky and sarcastic Daemon, but it is coupled with a sweeter, kinder, and more vulnerable side, that, frankly, we barely saw in the first book. That is my favorite part of this book. The character development we see in Daemon is so enjoyable to read, and it feels natural in a way that not all character developments feel like.

Katy also has some serious development going on, learning about herself and her new-found abilities (kind of a spoiler, sorry!). In some aspects of her character, she regresses (SPOILER! But when she lies to Daemon, I kind of wanted to shake her REALLY hard), but considering the situations she is put in, it is also a kind of natural regression – she acts like I would act, which is always entertaining.

I really like the plot in itself, especially all of the sub-plots that Armentrout manages to squeeze in, and how they all come together in the end. I am not going to say much more about it, cause spoilers, but those of you who have read the book know what I am going on about.

Like I said before, Armentrout’s writing isn’t perfect – there was never a moment where I had to close the book and go, “Damn,” because a line was so beautiful… yeah, that didn’t happen. However, the story in itself is still one of my favorite stories of all time, the characters are still amazing, and yeah. I love this book.

So, if you haven’t read it, stop reading my blog and go out and buy it! You have to read it!

Anyway, I am now on vacation (sort of ish…) and will be updating a lot more posts – I know I have been kind of MIA, but exams, guys, exams.

I hope you have a great day, filled with lots of reading!

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

