Heir of Fire – Sarah J. Maas

Heir of Fire

Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas cover image.
Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas cover image.

By Sarah J. Maas

Genre: Fantasy

Reading Level: Medium

Pages: 562

Review: 4.5 / 5

Synopsis:

Lost and broken, Celaena Sardothien’s only thought is to avenge the savage death of her dearest friend: as the King of Adarlan’s Assassin, she is bound to serve this tyrant, but he will pay for what he did. Any hope Celaena has of destroying the king lies in answers to be found in Wendlyn. Sacrificing his future, Chaol, the Captain of the King’s Guard, has sent Celaena there to protect her, but her darkest demons lay in that same place. If she can overcome them, she will be Adarlan’s biggest threat – and his own toughest enemy.

While Celaena learns of her true destiny, and the eyes of Erilea are on Wendlyn, a brutal and beastly force is preparing to take to the skies. Will Celaena find the strength not only to win her own battles, but to fight a war that could pit her loyalties to her own people against those she has grown to love? (Goodreads)

Links to purchase:

Opinion:

Hello everybody! So, this is Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas, and let me tell you, holy cow, it was wonderful. I loved it, and it is one of my favorite fantasy reads… Ever. I don’t know if I loved it as much as I loved Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas, the first installment, but I loved it.

Cealena is so cool, like she is one of those genuinely cool characters. Sometimes I find it a little difficult to relate to her ruthlessness, but that doesn’t eradicate any coolness that she possesses. I really enjoyed the Fae emphasis in this novel, particularly in relation to Cealena – of how she sort of lets out her inner Fae, and all that. I won’t say more on the subject, mainly because it is a little bit of a spoiler, especially if you haven’t read any of the other books in the series.

Rowan was a new character that was introduced in Heir of Fire, and as you have probably already guessed, I loved him as well. He brought a new feel to the series that I enjoyed; I thought that it was a nice progression of the overall storyline. He was also quite dynamic – the more you read about him, the more he changed, until he became a completely different character compared to the start of the series.

There was, of course, also Chaol, And he was as nice as always. It made me a little bit sad reading about him, mainly because of what happened in the previous novel. Just a side note, I disagree with Cealena on how she reacted and handled it, but that is another matter.

The book switched point of view, and I am not a fan of that. I like to immerse myself in one character, and I kind of feel like I am deprived of that when the writer switches from different characters. I did not really get that when reading this book, because I was already really familiar with them, but I still would have preferred to if it was just from Cealena’s P.O.V.

I loved the way it ended, but I hated it as well, because it ends with a cliffhanger! And I really want to see what happens next! I guess I will just have to wait for the next installment… Sigh.

Anyway, I really loved this book, so you should pick it up if you get the chance. If you haven’t read the series, DO! You have no idea what you are missing.

Have a nice day, hopefully filled with a lot of reading!

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

