Half-Blood – Jennifer L. Armentrout

Half-Blood

Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout cover image
Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout cover image.

By Jennifer L. Armentrout

Genre:  Fantasy

Reading Level: Easy/Medium

Pages: 281

Review: 4.5 / 5

Synopsis:

The Hematoi descend from the unions of gods and mortals, and the children of two Hematoi pure bloods have godlike powers. Children of Hematoi and mortals–well, not so much. Half-bloods only have two options: become trained Sentinels who hunt and kill daimons or become servants in the homes of the pures. Seventeen-year-old Alexandria would rather risk her life fighting than waste it scrubbing toilets, but she may end up slumming it anyway. There are several rules that students at the Covenant must follow. Alex has problems with them all, but especially rule #1:Relationships between pures and halfs are forbidden. Unfortunately, she’s crushing hard on the totally hot pure-blood Aiden. But falling for Aiden isn’t her biggest problem–staying alive long enough to graduate the Covenant and become a Sentinel is. If she fails in her duty, she faces a future worse than death or slavery: being turned into a daimon, and being hunted by Aiden. And that would kind of suck. (Goodreads)

Links to purchase:

Opinion:

Hello everybody! So this is Half-Blood by Jennifer L. Armentrout, the first book in the Covenant series, and let me tell you… I loved it! It was really fun, a lot of action, forbidden romance, awesome mythology. I mean, why wouldn’t I like it?

First off, I would like to state that I thoroughly enjoyed reading and learning about this particular world. It was really intriguing, and I am a complete sucker for when there is a big injustice in the social order – it was almost resembling a caste system certain times. I don’t know why, but I love reading about stuff like that. Plus their belief system was really fun to read about, I love me some Greek mythology, and Armentrout really had different reactions to said belief system, which I really enjoyed.

Aiden was just… yum. Like, oh my God, he was my favorite character. He was always level headed in everything (well, almost), and he wasn’t like the other pures… he was better than them. Also, when there is a guy who knows how to fight, I don’t know why, but something inside of me just melts.

I did not like the main character, Alex, very much, but mainly because she is a little too hot-headed for my opinion. I understand that Armentrout is creating this particular character to fit the story, and I respect that, but I find it difficult to relate to more aggressive characters. Plus, her aggression lead to (more than once) her doing stupid things, and that bothers me. I would rather have a calm and intelligent character, than a brute.

Also, some parts were eerily similar to the Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead. Just Alex and Aiden’s relationship was quite similar to Rose and Dimitri’s one. And the villains? I thought that it was a little too similar, but since I loved VA, you won’t hear me complaining about it all that much.

Armentrout’s writing style as well isn’t perfect – I never had to close the book and think because a sentence was just so beautiful. That being said, I don’t actually care all that much if the writing isn’t perfect – if the author draws me in, and makes me forget where I am because I am so absorbed, then the author has succeeded. And let me tell you, I stayed up till 3 am finishing off this book. It was worth being unable to function the next day.

I would definitely suggest that you pick this one up – I love it, a lot. It was really exciting to read, action packed, and did I mention forbidden romance? It is the best.

Anyway, what are your thoughts on this book? Loved it? Hated it? Haven’t read it? Please let me know in the comment’s section below!

Have a wonderful day!

/Emilia

One thought on “Half-Blood – Jennifer L. Armentrout

Leave a Reply

