Teardrop – Lauren Kate

Teardrop

By Lauren Kate

Genre: Paranormal

Reading Level: Easy/Medium

Pages: 441

Review: 3.25 / 5

Synopsis:

Never, ever cry…

Seventeen-year-old Eureka won’t let anyone close enough to feel her pain. After her mother was killed in a freak accident, the things she used to love hold no meaning. She wants to escape, but one thing holds her back: Ander, the boy who is everywhere she goes, whose turquoise eyes are like the ocean. And then Eureka uncovers an ancient tale of romance and heartbreak, about a girl who cried an entire continent into the sea. Suddenly her mother’s death and Ander’s appearance seem connected, and her life takes on dark undercurrents that don’t make sense. Can everything you love be washed away? (Goodreads)

Links to purchase:

Opinion:

So… I would like to state, for the record that I am a Lauren Kate fan – the Fallen books are one of those series that I read when I

Teardrop by Lauren Kate cover image.
Teardrop by Lauren Kate cover image.

first began to fall in love with books, and so I feel like I owe a lot to the author, and so I have pretty much vowed to read everything she writes. Just so you know, reason that this book is getting anything as high as 3.25 / 5 is because of the loyalty I feel towards the author. Plus, I found the hardcover edition for like 4 pounds at Waterstones when I was in Oxford – a hardcover book for 4 pounds? No matter content, a book like that deserves at least 3 / 5.

Urgh, Lauren Kate – what is this? I didn’t like it. I am sorry, but I didn’t. The plot, although quite original and had several interesting points, lacked excitement. I wasn’t anxiously turning each and every page like I was with Fallen. Yeah, okay water people and protectors and murderers and all of that, but it just didn’t do it for me. Frankly, it felt kind of childish. Perhaps it is me, and I have out-grown  Kate’s writing style (I read Fallen like 5 years ago), or Kate has regressed as an author stylistically. But from what I remember from Kate’s writing style, it is a lot better than what I was subjected to in Teardrop.

Plus, the main character, kind of annoyed me. She was just so… clueless. It felt like in the majority of the novel she was running around and not knowing  what she was doing. The main guy was a little tedious as well – he just did these things that no normal person would do, but if that was just to emphasize that he isn’t normal, it was done poorly. That being said, there were some cute moments between them that I did like reading about – and the prologue was one of the cutest things I’ve ever read.

I think that I will be continuing this series, but again, mainly out of loyalty for the author. And only if I can find the book on sale again… It is so big, too, my copy of Teardrop – it looks enormous next to my small, paperback copies of Fallen.

On a happier note, they appear to be making a movie out of Fallen, which I am really excited about! If these rumors are confirmed, then I will definitely be doing a reread. And you should, too. Or well, read them if you haven’t read them. It is kind of hard to reread something you haven’t read…

Anyway, have a wonderful day! If you pick up this book, good for you, if not, then you aren’t missing much.

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

