My Top 10 Fantasy Novels

Hello all bibliophiles! If you have been reading my blog at all, you know I quite enjoy reading fantasy novels; usually towards the young adult end of the spectrum, but fantasy novels nevertheless. However, I have decided to write my top 10 hardcore fantasy novels. The ones that breach the realms of our world and approaches the fantastical.

So, without further ado, here is my list of the Top 10 Best, Most Hardcore, Fantasy Novels (in no particular order):

1. Lord of the Rings trilogy by J.R.R. Tolkien. No surprise there. This novel is the epitome of the fantastical, and essentially the bible to all fantasy lovers. Coupled alongside with The Hobbit, these novels have created the utterly unique world of Middle Earth, and the sheer popularity and magnitude of the novels is what makes them the first to be on this list. Plus, it  has dragons. And why are dragons important? Because dragons.

Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien cover image
Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien cover image.

2. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. Ah, where would Tolkien be without Lewis? It feels only prudent that the Narnia books come right after Lord of the Rings. Another epic series, one that almost all already know, every fantasy lover (that i know) gets tingles when reading/watching the children go through the wardrobe the first time, thereby leaving their world and entering the fantasy world. After studying in Oxford this summer, I had the great privileged to see the lamppost that inspired the one in Narnia, as well as see Lewis’ office. Wonderful series.

The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis cover image.
The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis cover image.

3. The Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Rothfuss. I only heard of this book last year, and I cannot believe that it isn’t as famous as LotR. An amazing storyline, rich language, complex and interesting characters, wondrous world – this book has everything. And, compared to LotR, it does not take 18 months to read because it is clear to understand, and there is a flow to it that just makes you keep on reading. I love this series, even though Rothfuss takes 2000 years to complete his last installment.

The Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Ruthfuss cover image
The Kingkiller Chronicles by Patrick Ruthfuss cover image.

4. Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson. Again, I cannot believe that I hadn’t read this book before I did. My cousin gave me a copy of the trilogy, and I completed it within two weeks when I was in England. I was completely obsessed, and I could not stop reading it. I just want to mention how utterly badass the main characters are, because they really are. Yes, there is Legolas and Lucy, but lets be real guys – Vin. She is the coolest.

Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson
Mistborn trilogy by Brandon Sanderson cover image.

5. Inheritance quartet by Christopher Paolini. Even though the last book was terrible, this series deserves to be up here. Why? ‘Cause dragons. Eragon was one of the first fantasy novels that I ever read, and it holds a special place in my heart because of that. It takes on a fairly unique depiction of dragons, and the fact that they can mentally communicate is just way to cool. And I actually like the movie – if you do not think about how badly they screwed it up in relation to the novels. Love this quartet.

Inheritance quartet by Christopher Paolini
Inheritance quartet by Christopher Paolini cover image.

6. Graceling Realm trilogy by Kristin Cashore. A more modern novel, Graceling takes on the unique idea of people being born with graces, special abilities, and it is truly a fascinating world. Again, this is one of the series that I read when I first started to enjoy reading, and I have a special connection to this book. I haven’t read it in a while, and just writing about it makes me want to reread it. So, if you haven’t read this book, do!

Graceling Realm trilogy by Kristin Cashore
Graceling Realm trilogy by Kristin Cashore cover image.

7. Game of Thrones series by George R.R. Martin. I almost forgot about this one, which is strange, because it is one of the most famous fantasy series currently. In my opinion, Martin perhaps isn’t the best writer, but he creates this world, with incomprehensibly complex characters and unforeseeable plot lines, that I don’t care that he doesn’t write perfectly. And you know why else it is awesome? Because dragons. Dragons are cool, whether you are a fantasy geek or not. And Jon Snow… sigh.

Game of Thrones series by George R.R. Martin cover image
Game of Thrones series by George R.R. Martin cover image

8. His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman. Another classic, Pullman’s scientific take on the fantasy genre is completely absorbing, and he is one of the most renowned fantasy writers of all time… even though he doesn’t like LotR. Lyra is the Queen of Strong Female characters, wild and untamed, smart, brave, she was one of my role models growing up. Another series I hold dear to my heart, this is a classic.

His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman cover image.
His Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman cover image.

9. The Black Magician trilogy by Trudi Canavan. I can scarcely remember this series I read it so long ago, but the things I do remember are brilliant. I mean, Magicians. Like dragons, they are always cool. I mean the actual magicians that use actual magic, and not the posers. And this novel is up there mainly because most hardcore fantasy fans that like magicians have read this novel… I am pretty sure. Great series, and you should read it!

The Black Magician trilogy by Trudi Canavan cover image.
The Black Magician trilogy by Trudi Canavan cover image.

 10.  The Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling. OF COURSE HARRY POTTER! Perhaps it cannot be classified as hardcore fantasy, but considering that this is the greatest series of all time, it seems only natural that this post is up here. I am having a Harry Potter marathon as of currently (which might be a bad idea considering how incapacitated it makes me), which was actually what inspired this post. But Harry Potter has magic and dragons and Hermione punching Draco and freaking Hogwarts. Perhaps not the most epic fantasy novel there is, but you know what? It is one of the most epic book series out there, if not the most epic.

Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling cover image.
Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling cover image.

But, it does not do to dwell on dreams and forget to live, so I am going to sign off now! This was my Top 10 Fantasy Novels of all time, but what about you? Do you have another book that you think deserves to be on this list? Or perhaps one that doesn’t deserve to be up there? Please, let me know in the comment’s section below!

In the meantime, have a great day!

/Emilia

4 thoughts on “My Top 10 Fantasy Novels

  1. Great list. Some of my favorites are on there, and some I have not read but will add to my pile of to be reads.I was surprised to see The Wheel of Time series missing from your list, have you read them? I would also recommend The Dark Sword trilogy. Thank you for the list, it was fun to read.

  2. Some interesting opinions mixed in with those choices, I’ve read all but two of those series. I suggest reading the Nightrunner Series by Lynn Flewelling. There are some great twists in the books plotline and morality wise.

Leave a Reply

