Outlander – Diana Gabaldon

Outlander

By Diana Gabaldon

Genre: Historical Time Travel

Reading Level: Medium/Hard

Pages: 870

Review: 4.75 / 5

Synopsis:

The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon–when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient stone circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach–an “outlander”–in a Scotland torn by war and raiding Highland clans in the year of Our Lord…1743.

Hurled back in time by forces she cannot understand, Claire is catapulted into intrigues and dangers that may threaten her life…and shatter her heart. For here she meets James Fraser, a gallant young Scots warrior, and becomes a woman torn between fidelity and desire…and between two vastly different men in two irreconcilable lives. (Goodreads)

Opinion:

Hello everyone! I have officially settled down in my new house in South Africa, and the first thing I decided to do was to pick up a new book – obviously – and that was Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I had always been slightly adverse to reading this book, even though several good friends (and good readers) have recommended it to me. I found the fact that she was already married slightly unappealing. About a week ago, however, I saw that they had released a new series called Outlander and I watched the first episode. About 5 minutes later, I was sitting down and reading the book.

But reviewing! Ah, yes, it was brilliant – I have to listen to my fellow readers about this sort of thing, because they were totally right. This book is exactly the sort of thing that I personally love. Time travel, romance, Scotland, everything!

Outlander by Diana Gabaldon cover image.
Outlander by Diana Gabaldon cover image.

I was, as already mentioned, skeptical about delving into this book, because of the fact that she was already married, and I have issues with infidelity, but trust me guys, this book writes it in a way that makes it appropriate. It becomes an unavoidable situation, and the way that Gabaldon writes it makes it… acceptable. So, for all other readers that find infidelity wrong, don’t worry, it is okay. This book as an amazing way of making you forget that she’s already married, although she kind of isn’t…

Time-travel books are a weakness of mine, and I adore how it plays with your mind. Claire, the main character, gets married sometime in the twentieth century, but when she gets thrown back into the 1700s, she isn’t technically married anymore because her husband hasn’t been born, but she has memories of things that has happened in her mind, but also might happen because they happen in the future, and argh! This is just like one of those mind boggling things about time-travel, and it is wonderful.

I really enjoy Gabaldon’s writing style as well. The sophistication of it is not something you usually find in Young Adult novels (the kind of novels that I usually read) and it is always refreshing to sometimes put the YA novels down and pick up an “adult” novel; and considering the amount of sexy times in this novel, it can most definitely be described as an adult novel.

The characters… I like Claire a little more than I initially thought that I would, but she isn’t my favorite character. She has some thoughts and does some things that I strongly disagree with, and she is kind of annoying. Jamie, on the other hand, I like a lot more. There are two incidences in the novel that I think he is a total (insert bad word), but other than that, I adored him. He is a lot sweeter than I first thought that he would be, and he has done some really good things for a lot of people. Plus, he is good with horses. That’s, like, a trifecta.

And even though there are good characters and more distinct evil characters, Gabaldon does has a way of showing both the good and the bad in every character. Not like George R.R. Martin, who is a God when it comes to characters and their developments, but she does approach his lowest level.

Other than the few awkward moments in the novel – moments that had to be there to make the novel more realistic, but they made me uncomfortable – I am still very excited about this novel. I think I am going to take a couple of days before beginning the second one, because 870 pages is quite overwhelming.

Anywho, read this book, ’tis wonderful, and if you are as obsessed with the Scottish Highlands as I am, you will absolutely love it.

Have a nice day, and thanks for making it to the end of the post!

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

