Penryn & the End of Days – Susan Ee

Good morning to all! I am back, and though my WiFi is still a little sketchy, it is there, which it hasn’t been in a while. And I know I said I’d write a new post promptly, but my grandfather just passed away, and so I have been busy doing a lot of family stuff. Sorry!

Anywho, I have had time to read, during my one month away from WiFi, and one of the series I have read is Penryn & the End of Days by Susan Ee. I picked this book up because A) the covers are absolutely gorgeous, and B) the author’s last name. Ee!

Book #1 – Angelfall

Genre: Dystopian

Reading Level: Medium(ish)

Pages: 283

Review: 4.5 / 5

Synopsis:

It’s been six weeks since angels of the apocalypse descended to demolish the modern world. Street gangs rule the day while fear and superstition rule the night. When warrior angels fly away with a helpless little girl, her seventeen-year-old sister Penryn will do anything to get her back.

Anything, including making a deal with an enemy angel.

Raffe is a warrior who lies broken and wingless on the street. After eons of fighting his own battles, he finds himself being rescued from a desperate situation by a half-starved teenage girl.

Traveling through a dark and twisted Northern California, they have only each other to rely on for survival. Together, they journey toward the angels’ stronghold in San Francisco where she’ll risk everything to rescue her sister and he’ll put himself at the mercy of his greatest enemies for the chance to be made whole again. (Goodreads)

Opinion:

This book, guys, this book! This was a seriously entertaining read about angels. I usually have a quite a difficult time reading angel novels – I don’t like them very much, and they are weird – but for some reason, this summer, I have been reading a lot of really great angel books. And this one is no exception.

So, I am just going to dive right in and review.

Angelfall by Susan Ee cover image
Angelfall by Susan Ee cover image

This book has a very interesting view on the whole Angel thing – in this book, they are essentially trying to eliminate mankind, which, in my opinion, is like the opposite of what angels should be trying to do. They explain they why’s of it later, but I won’t say anything because that is spoiling.

There is also a very interesting sibling-dynamic between Penryn and her sister, and unlike a lot of novels, it is more similar to an actual sibling relationship. I have two sisters, and although it isn’t as, umm, intense as Penryn’s relationship with her sister, it is still more similar to that than those weird ones on TV. The whole do-anything-for-you thing is very properly depicted in these books.

I also like the way that Raffe (who is YUM) describes humans as animals, because it seems like a very natural reaction for a “superior” being to have. But then he sort of stops thinking about it? Was that too much of a spoiler? I don’t know, but Raffe is lovely, especially in the sequel…

Speaking of the sequel, here it is!

Book #2 – World After

Things got chaotic there in the end of the first book, but don’t worry, they get even more chaotic in the sequel.

So, I am just going to go out and say it – I did not like this book as much as I liked the first

World After by Susan Ee cover image.
World After by Susan Ee cover image.

one. It just seemed a little bit more all-over-the-place, which, given the fact that it is a dystopian novel, isn’t really weird, and I don’t know… it just didn’t do it for me.

SPOILER ALERT! I am about to write a lot of spoilers, so DO NOT continue if you don’t want spoilers.

I did NOT like how Raffe was basically not in the entire book. Yes, Penryn did the whole, see-him-via-the-sword thing, but it just wasn’t the same. He appears in the very end, but I wanted more of him. I get that Susan Ee was just trying to focus on the sibling stuff than the romantic stuff, which is great, but Raffe is the most entertaining character in the entire novel, and it is a shame that you get to see so little of him…

I really wonder what she is going to write about in the third novel, however, and I will definitely be paying close attention to it. More Raffe!

Now, I have to go outside and enjoy the rest of my summer, but I might just write another post soon, because I forgot how much I like it!

Have a nice rest of the summer – there is still a little bit left!

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

