Incarnate – Jodi Meadows

Incarnate

By Jodi Meadows

Genre: Science-Fiction

Reading Level: Medium(ish)

Pages: 374

Review: 4 / 5

Synopsis:

New soul

Ana is new. For thousands of years in Range, a million souls have been reincarnated over and over, keeping their memories and experiences from previous lifetimes. When Ana was born, another soul vanished, and no one knows why.

No soul

Even Ana’s own mother thinks she’s a nosoul, an omen of worse things to come, and has kept her away from society. To escape her seclusion and learn whether she’ll be reincarnated, Ana travels to the city of Heart, but its citizens are afraid of what her presence means. When dragons and sylph attack the city, is Ana to blame?

Heart

Sam believes Ana’s new soul is good and worthwhile. When he stands up for her, their relationship blooms. But can he love someone who may live only once, and will Ana’s enemies—human and creature alike—let them be together? Ana needs to uncover the mistake that gave her someone else’s life, but will her quest threaten the peace of Heart and destroy the promise of reincarnation for all? (Goodreads)

Opinion:

Hello everyone! Happy summer vacation! Or, for those of you who are working, happy summer! I know that I actually have the freedom to write a post everyday right now, but there has been so much going on that I, unfortunately, have been really busy and haven’t been posting as much as I should be doing.

However, I have managed to read some (he he, some, he he), and one of those books was Incarnate by Jodi Meadows. So, here is the review!

In the novel, the author has managed to create an incredibly intriguing world, and the uniqueness is actually one of the reasons why this book is receiving 4 stars. The idea of incarnation is fascinating, and this book uses the initial idea and changes it in a way that I’ve never seen before. And if you’ve been reading my blog, you know that I have a thing for new ideas, reading wise.

Ana is the first newsoul (not a spoiler) and she’s surrounded by souls that have been incarnated again and again, and you just can’t help but feel sorry for the character, because she has to feel so alone. Everybody has known everybody for centuries, and suddenly a new soul replaces another soul. A) everybody hates her, because she “killed” their friend. B) everybody is like a gazillion years old, and she’s 18. C) Nobody knows if she’ll come back after she’s died, and so nobody really wants to invest in her.

That has got to suck.

I am not sure how I felt about Ana as a character – she kept on swapping her personality quite frequently, but it is understandable given her background. Sam, on the other hand, was quite dreamy. I have a theory that all the Sams (in novels) are just made of pure adorableness, like all the Wills (in novels) are the hottest things alive.

Incarnate cover image
Incarnate cover image

My favorite thing about this book, however, was the writing style of the author. Granted, it took me a couple of pages in to the novel before I really got into it, but when I did, it was beautiful. Don’t you just love those books where you go, that’s nice? Like, that was a genuinely nice read. This is one of those books.

I will definitely be getting the two sequels in this series, as soon as I can get my hands on them. Also, can I just rant about how beautiful the cover is? Like, cover artist – hear my applause. So pretty.

I hope you have an excellent day!

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

