Where I Buy Books

Hello everyone! So, today I figured that I’d write a post about where I buy books, but it is going to be a little all over the place because I am a little all over the place (geographically). So, I am hoping wherever you are in the world, you’ll be able to find something. Maybe. Here we go!

Books Kinokuniya

I’ve been living in Thailand for a while, and the best place in Thailand is definitely Kinokuniya. To be honest, it is one of the best, biggest, bookstores I’ve ever been in, and when I say they have everything, I mean that they have everything. Really, it doesn’t matter what you’re looking for, they have it. And really good prices too – for your average book, it’s somewhere between 300-400 Baht. Of course, it is a tad more expensive if you buy a “special” book, for example cookbooks, but these are always more expensive. The biggest one is located in Paragorn, which is a shopping centre, but there are a couple of smaller ones around town.

IMG-20120806-00507

 Science Fiction Bokhandeln

I am Swedish, and spend a significant amount of time in my own home country. Sadly though, Sweden does not have the best bookstores. There is a bookstore, called Akademibokhandeln, that is buying up all of the other bookstores, and it is absolute crap. Impersonal, pricey, and understocked, I do not enjoy going there, but sometimes it is the only option.

However, I’ve been recommended a book store called Science Fiction Bokhandeln meaning The Science Fiction Bookstore, and it is wonderful. There are three in Sweden, located in the three largest cities – Stockholm, Gothenburg, and Malmö. I’ve only been to the smallest one in Malmö, because it is closest to me, but it was wonderful. They only have science fiction and fantasy stuff (duh), but it is so great. Their prices range from around 100-150 kronors, which is a really good price in Sweden. Yesterday, I bought 5 books for 500 kronors, and you really can’t do that anywhere else. I’ve heard the one in Stockholm is really big and really awesome, but I haven’t been there myself.  I am so excited to go and visit there, and hopefully with Sofia – who is my best friend and avid reader (she recommended this store to me).

72562

My favorite place to get books, however, was at my library at my old school (I’ve been there so much that I think of it as my library). They had everything, I could just walk around for hours (which I have done), and if I wanted a recommendation, I could just speak to the librarians. However, sadly enough, I’ve moved, and now have to find another favorite place. Sigh.

I have ordered some stuff from Amazon, but shipping is cruel. Recently I’ve heard of the Book Depository, a website  that seems really great, but I’ve never ordered anything from it. If anybody else has, please let me know in the comment’s section below – with no shipping, and those prices, it seems to good to be true, but I just don’t know.

bookstoreI am also moving to South Africa, and if anyone knows of a good place to buy books, please let me know, because I will almost definitely, not get as great of a library, and will now have to start buying my books… I am going to be so broke.

So, there you have it! Best bookstores in Bangkok and Sweden, but if you have a favorite bookstore, please let me know!

It is kind of depressing, because more and more bookstores are closing down (at least in Sweden), and I am one of those people who just love walking around in bookstores. I always try to buy my books in bookstores, but it is getting more and more difficult to actually do that.

Anyway, I hope you have a wonderful day, and I will see you soon.

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

