If I Stay Sequel – Gayle Forman

Hello my fellow bloggers (and you people who have just randomly stumble upon this blog)! So, like I promised in my previous post, I would write a two book review on the If I Stay sequel by Gayle Forman, and I am going to do a proper review on both books, and then I’ll compare them in the end. Oh, and I looked it up, and apparently when it’s only two books, it is called a sequel, like when it is three books it is a trilogy – am I the only one who finds it weird? Sequel? If I am wrong, please correct me in the comments section below.

Here we go!

Book #1 – If I Stay

Genre: Contemporary YA Fiction

Reading Level: Medium

Pages: 201

Review: 4.5 / 5

Synopsis: 

Choices. Seventeen-year-old Mia is faced with some tough ones: Stay true to her first love—music—even if it means losing her boyfriend and leaving her family and friends behind?

Then one February morning Mia goes for a drive with her family, and in an instant, everything changes. Suddenly, all the choices are gone, except one. And it’s the only one that matters.

If I Stay is a heartachingly beautiful book about the power of love, the true meaning of family, and the choices we all make. (Goodreads)

Opinion:

Woah. Lets just start off by admitting that I cried. I cried a lot. This book is one of the most

If I Stay book cover.
If I Stay book cover.

depressing books I’ve read in a long, long, time. It almost reached into me, grabbed my heart in a vice grip, and then twisted it. I don’t want to spoil anything, but the end scene (and everybody who has read the book know what I am talking about)? I had to stop several times because I was crying so hard.

That being said, you should read this book. It’s kind of superb. The plot is inconsecutive, which usually bothers me a lot, but it fit in nicely with this kind of writing – previous events that tie back into the main plot. The characters are really dynamic, too, which just adds to the credibility of the book.

All in all, great start!

Book #2 – Where She Went

Genre: Contemporary YA Fiction

Reading Level: Medium

Pages: 264

Review: 4.75 / 5

Synopsis: 

It’s been three years since Mia walked out of Adam’s life.

And three years he’s spent wondering why.

When their paths cross again in New York City, Adam and Mia are brought back together for one life-changing night.

Adam finally has the opportunity to ask Mia the questions that have been haunting him. But will a few hours in this magical city be enough to lay their past to rest, for good – or can you really have a second chance at first love? (Goodreads)

Opinion:

Where She Went book cover.
Where She Went book cover.

So, book two of the If I Stay sequel (still feels weird to call it that). Was it as sad? No, I didn’t even cry. Was it just as good? It was better. This is just my personal opinion (as everything in this blog is) but it has a very confusing bundle of emotions. Wait, let me explain: in the first book, If I Stay, you felt very sad… well, clinically depressed, actually, but you knew what you were feeling, and why you were feeling it. It made sense.

Where She Went isn’t that nice to you – you’re not be able to compartmentalize your feelings with this book. You feel everything, at the same time. You sympathize with the person you’re angry at. You’re infuriated with the ways things are. And like life, you kind of wish you could change and erase all of the wrong things.

It is so much more real than the other book, which is why it is better.

Compare:

So to summarize, both of the books were brilliant, except the second one was slightly better because it felt more real. They were both inconsecutive, and even though it tied in nicely, it felt a little more natural in the first book.

Also, the voices in the books were kind of similar, in my opinion. You could tell that they were different people, but definitely the same author. And the character thing? Mainly swearing that separated them from one another.

Anyway, all in all, you should read this story.

Like, stop what you’re doing right now and go and get it.

I hope you have an excellent day, filled with reading and coffee.

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

