2014 Summer Reading

Hello everyone! Sorry that it’s been so long since my last post – I had my final exams, and then I’m moving to another continent (which takes up a lot of my time), I no longer have a computer (because my previous school actually owned my computer, and I had to give it back), and I’ve been visiting family, and going to graduations, etc.

So… yeah, I’ve been busy.

However, as we all know, it is now summer, and do you know what that means? Summer reading! YAY! So without further ado, here comes my summer reading list for 2014.

reading-oncosec

Book #1 – If I Stay by Gayle Forman

I can’t believe how behind I am with reading this book. Honest to God, I haven’t read it yet, and I am almost embarrassed over that fact –  I mean, seemingly everyone has read it except for me. I wouldn’t even know about it unless it had been for Youtube. So, I will probably cry my eyes out (if the trailer is any indication) but considering its glowing reviews on Goodreads, it might be worth it. Super excited!

(Goodreads link here)

Book #2 – The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

I have already read this book – for those of you who had a heart-attack when you thought I hadn’t read it yet. However, I am studying literature this summer, and J.R.R. Tolkien is one of the authors that I will be studying, so I figured I might as well brush up. I’ll probably read Lord of the Rings, too, if I can find the time. Not as excited for this one, but lets be honest –  it’s not exactly torture.

(Goodreads link here)

Book #3 – The 5th Wave by Rick Yancey

This book is lying next to me as we speak, but I haven’t had a chance to read it yet. I don’t even know all that much about it, other than the fact that it is post-apocalytic, and that Booktube (the book side of youtube) love it. I have a Swedish copy, which makes me a little sad because I’d prefer it in English, but oh well. I need to practice my mother tongue anyway.

(Goodreads link here)

Book #4 – Champion by Marie Lu

I got this book from my sister today, and I am so hyped! I loved Legend and Prodigy, and I cannot wait for this one! If Day and June don’t end up together, it will ruin my summer… okay, maybe that was hyperbolized, but I will be very upset for a couple of days. And can I just say how utterly beautiful the cover is? I mean, the other ones were quite nice, but this is one of my favorite covers I’ve seen so far this year. It is so pretty.

(Goodreads link here)

Book #5 – Where She Went by Gayle Forman

I also got this book from my sister today, and I am so happy! This is the sequel to If I Stay, and even though I am trying to not get my hopes up with this series, argh, I cannot help it. A lot of people say that this book is better than the first one, however, a lot of people also say that the first book is the best one. I think it will be interesting to make up my own mind about it, and see which side of the “debate” I will end up in. I’ll probably end up doing a review on this series, because Gayle Forman’s books are gorgeous.

(Goodreads link here)

So, these are the five specific books that I had in mind and already own, but there are about 100 other ones that I want to read. I want to buy The Cahill Witch Chronicles by Jessica Spotswood – I read the first one, and now I desperately want to own all of the books. I saw it in the store the other day, both the first one and the second one in hardcover, but in Swedish. I guess I shouldn’t be adverse to reading books in my own language, but I want these in English.

I want to read Incarnate by Jodi Meadows, The Selection by Keira Cass, Scarlet by A.C. Gaughen, and about a hundred other books. And lets not forget the books that I have read, but I want to own. Gone by Lisa McMann, Under the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi, all the books by Julie Kagawa, all the books by Jennifer L. Armentrout, and the list goes on and on.

I think I’ll end today’s post with a quote, as cliché as that is.

I was born with a reading list that I will never finish – Maud Casey

Have a great summer everyone, and I’ll see you soon!

/Emilia

________________________

Do you have a summer reading list? Any books you are dying to read? Let me know in the comments section below!

4 thoughts on “2014 Summer Reading

  1. I don’t know if I really have a specific list. But now that it’s summer break, I definitely hope to get some more reading done!

    Awesome list, and I hope you enjoy these books 😀

    1. Thanks! I’ve already managed to read If I Stay (it’s only like 200 pages) and LOVED it! My one problem with summers is that I end up spending too much time inside reading – but when I get told to go outside, I end up reading outside.

      The problems of a bibliophile!

      I hope you get to read some great books!

    1. City of Heavenly Fire and Paper Towns are gorgeous books! Trust me, you won’t regret reading them – except, of course, when you’re crying in the corner, wondering what to do with your life now that TMI is over.

      I haven’t read The Merciless, but I’ll check it out on Goodreads 😀

Leave a Reply

