Obsidian – Jennifer L. Armentrout

Obsidian

Cover image of Obsidian.
Cover image of Obsidian.

By Jennifer L. Armentrout

Genre: Sci-Fi / Fantasy

Reading Level: Medium

Pages: 335

Review: 5 / 5

Synopsis:

Starting over sucks.

When we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens. 

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades. 

If I don’t kill him first, that is (“Goodreads“).

Opinion:

So, you know how a couple of posts ago I said I had a new favorite book, even though I don’t pick favorites? Well… I’m back to having multiple favorite books, because this one is right up there with On Dublin Street.

It is so good, and I’ve never read anything like it before. It is about aliens, and even I do like a bit of Sci-Fi, I’ve always seen the cover and thought, Nah. Last night, however, I was procrastinating (*cough cough) and I thought that I’d give it a whirl.

I stayed up all night.

Holy cow, if a books has everything, it is this one! It is action packed, it’s sci-fi, it’s fantasy, it’s romance, it’s real emotions of real people (figuratively…), it’s amazing.

The plot is brilliant. The blurb is bothering me a little bit – I think it gives away too much, but at the same time, it prepares you for what you’re about to read. Many people see alien and romance, and think nah, or at least, that’s what I did. It’s not really like that at all – they’re technically aliens, but not the green and slimy kind. Read the book, and you’ll know what I mean

Also, yes there is romance – Daemon… sigh – but there are other things as well. Like friendship. Family cordiality.  Weird, confusing emotions. Actual issues, laced with alien-y things. Epic.

Their relationship is wonderful as well. Okay, depends what you mean by wonderful – it’s delicious to read about, at least. They’re actually kind of nasty to one another, and their ambiguous feelings just adds to the drama of the book. It keeps things interesting, you know? And I know that I’ve already said it some thousand times, but it is so real. Any person alive can relate to the weird bundle of emotions – the going back and forth between yes and no. People are complicated, and I believe that the best characters are also complicated. Static characters can be entertaining, but that’s about it.

They don’t teach you anything…

But back to Daemon – argh, I died. In real life, I hate them. In books however? Bad boys are the best.

Oh, and one of my favorite things? She blogs. About books. And she reviews them… for some reason I really relate to her. Plus, she’s kind of geeky, which I always love in a book character. Spread the geekiness!

Well, to conclude – this fantastic book that people need to read. Another one of those books where you can’t understand how everyone isn’t reading and talking about it.

Anyway… have a great day!

/Emilia

P.s. my final exams are coming up, so I won’t be updating for a little while, which sucks. Trust me, I’d much rather be blogging than studying.

2 thoughts on “Obsidian – Jennifer L. Armentrout

  1. Awesome review! I pretty much had the same feelings toward Daemon that you did. Like, wow. I also loved that Katy is so relatable. I loved that she’s a blogger, and a book blogger at that!

    Super excited for the last book in this series 😀

Leave a Reply

