On Dublin Street – Samantha Young

On Dublin Street

By Samantha Young

Genre: Romance

Reading Level: Medium (Hardish)

Pages: 372

Review: 5 / 5

Synopsis:

Jocelyn Butler has been hiding from her past for years. But all her secrets are about to be laid bare…

Four years ago, Jocelyn left her tragic past behind in the States and started over in Scotland, burying her grief, ignoring her demons, and forging ahead without attachments. Her solitary life is working well—until she moves into a new apartment on Dublin Street where she meets a man who shakes her carefully guarded world to its core.

Braden Carmichael is used to getting what he wants, and he’s determined to get Jocelyn into his bed. Knowing how skittish she is about entering a relationship, Braden proposes an arrangement that will satisfy their intense attraction without any strings attached.

But after an intrigued Jocelyn accepts, she realizes that Braden won’t be satisfied with just mind-blowing passion. The stubborn Scotsman is intent on truly knowing her… down to the very soul (“Goodreads“).

Opinion:

Oh. My. God. I am so in love. I have actually never loved a book more. It might just be that Edinburgh is my favorite city in the entire world, or that I am a sucker for good romance novels, but I love it. This is my favorite book of all time. Favorite. Book. Ever.

And this is coming from the most indecisive, I-don’t-have-a-favorite-book-I-have-many, person you’ll ever met.

This is my favorite book.

Cover image of On Dublin Street.
Cover image of On Dublin Street.

For one, I have this weird obsession where the woman is the one with all of the emotional crap, and the baggage that comes with being the afraid-to-commit person. For some reason I find this extremely relatable… *cough cough.

And the nature of their relationship and how it evolves throughout the plot is so deliciously cliché, but in a good way. First they don’t want to admit it, but then they can’t help it and fall desperately in love, then something bad happens and they have a falling out, but love keeps them together in the end. Sigh.

I know that’s it is a completely unoriginal storyline, but I love it.

Although, lets be honest – the more “romantic scenes” are what makes it all worthwhile. I have read other books with good stuff in them, some great stuff even, and after a while of reading, I’ve sort of become an expert in the field. And let me tell you, there are some AMAZING things in this book.

Now, I don’t mean, weird, 50 Shades of Grey, crap. I mean actual, real, physical connections, that even though they’re slightly hyperbolized (because lets face it, it is a novel), they’re honest in ways that most books aren’t.

I loved this book, but if I’m being honest, I liked the two that come after it even more (however, I’m too lazy to do a full series review). However, only because they were preying on my two favorite subjects – traumatized childhood and insecurities.

So… read this book. I am serious, you will not regret it.

Favorite. Book. Ever.

Have a great day!

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

