This Star Won’t Go Out – Esther Earl

This Star Won’t Go Out

By Esther Earl

Genre: Non-fiction

Reading Level: Easy(ish)

Pages: 431

Review: 4 / 5

Synopsis:

A collection of the journals, fiction, letters, and sketches of the late Esther Grace Earl, who passed away in 2010 at the age of 16. Photographs and essays by family and friends will help to tell Esther’s story along with an introduction by award-winning author John Green who dedicated his #1 bestselling novel The Fault in Our Stars to her (“Goodreads“).

Opinion:

So, as an avid John Green fan, the natural next step for me to take would be to read the book about the person that John Green dedicated TFiOS to – Esther Earl.

This Star Won't Go Out by Esther Earl cover image.
This Star Won’t Go Out by Esther Earl cover image.

For those of you who have remained unaware under your rock, John Green dedicated TFiOS to Esther Earl, a teenager who unfortunately died of cancer in 2010. They met at a Harry Potter convention, and after the meeting, John Green states in the book’s introduction that he felt adamant about continuing to writing his book, which was already a book about cancer. John is very clear about the fact that Esther Earl inspired him to write, but Esther is not Hazel.

But back to the actual book. I really liked it, and I think it’s a heartbreaking kind of story, but I also believe my hopes were too high because I didn’t enjoy it as much as I thought I would.

As I’ve previously stated, I’ve always had a hard time completely relating to people who are very religious – not that there’s anything wrong with being religious, it’s just that I’m not – and Esther was very religious.

And it made me very irritated, the way she spoke about God, and how she believed that He had reasons for giving her cancer and such. I refuse to believe in a deity who can condemn a sixteen-year-old to death. More importantly, I had a really hard time because she just wasn’t angry with God at all. She just accepted it – which is the main reason I think it is difficult to relate to her.

I cried a lot, though – especially in the beginning when I read the introduction from her parents.

Throughout the whole process of the reading, I couldn’t help but be struck by the injustice of it all, and how unfair everything was. Sixteen-year-olds shouldn’t die. Kids shouldn’t get cancer. Children shouldn’t die before their parents.

But still, definitely something that everyone should read – especially Nerdfighters.

Have a nice day!

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

