Souls Screamers – Rachel Vincet

Hello fellow avid bibliophiles! So, I recently read the first five books of the series Soul Screamers by Rachel Vincent, and so I thought I’d review them here. Since it’s a series, I will be using a slightly different format, but I think you’ll get it.

Warning, this will contain spoilers. A lot of spoilers.

I’m going to leave the blurb for the first book in the series, and then my review for it, and so if you want to venture into this particular rabbit hole because you like the blurb, then feel free.

My Soul to Take

by Rachel Vincent

Genre: Paranormal

Reading Level: Easy / Medium

Pages: 279

Review: 4.6 / 5

Synopsis: 

She doesn’t see dead people. She senses when someone near her is about to die. And when that happens, a force beyond her control compels her to scream bloody murder. Literally.

Kaylee just wants to enjoy having caught the attention of the hottest guy in school. But a normal date is hard to come by when Nash seems to know more about her need to scream than she does. And when classmates start dropping dead for no apparent reason, only Kaylee knows who’ll be next (Goodreads).

Book #1 – My Soul to Take

This is the first installment of Vincent’s Soul Screamers series and it was probably my

My Soul to Take cover image.
My Soul to Take cover image.

favorite one. What can I say, I’m a sucker for beginnings? I like the first one mainly because everything is new and fresh, and even though it can be complicated and confusing for the main character, for the reader it’s not as messy as the follow-ups usually are. For those of you who have read the series, Nash is so much more likable in this book than in the next ones, and because I am (or was) Team Nash, it is one of the reasons as to why I like this book the most. My favorite scene of the entire series is still that one scene in My Soul to Take where she discovers that she isbean sidhe (other than the make-out scenes, you know), which also (kind of) makes this one was my favorite by default.

Book #2 – My Soul to Save

Meh. Really, Vincent? I guess that my hopes were a little high after such an epic

My Soul to Save cover image.
My Soul to Save cover image.

introduction – as hopes tend to be – but this? Couldn’t you have given me a little more? I still really liked it, and there were some particularly interesting character developments that I liked, but a little piece of me wanted more… (SEX! Just kidding… no, not really). Still desperately in love with Nash, but Kaylee, the main character, is annoying me more and more. To be honest, I do not really like her, but as to why I don’t approve of her, I don’t really know. It’s just a vibe.

Book #3 – My Soul to Keep

My Soul to Keep cover image.
My Soul to Keep cover image.

NO! What just happened? Nash, darling, what did you do? Seriously, what did you do? This is one of those books that rips out your heart and soul, and then ties it around your neck, leaving you to suffocate in your own feels. Too much? Well, the book hurt me so much, I am just incredibly upset about the whole thing. This is not a hyperbole, guys. This is what I actually felt after completing this book. I don’t know what else to write.

Book #4 – My Soul to Steal

My Soul to Steal cover image.
My Soul to Steal cover image

Okay, things are getting back to normal. I’m no longer depressed, and I think that I can start moving on. Even though it feels as if I’m about to witness something terrible throughout the entire book, I’m just going to swallow those fears and keep on going. P.s – who else is incredibly (and incomprehensibly) in love with Sabine? I know that I am supposed to hate her and everything, and I still ship Nash and Kaylee, but right Kaylee sucks and Nash is annoying. Sabine is… entertaining.

If I Die cover image.
If I Die cover image.

Book #5 – If I Die

Okay, I’m done. That’s it. Vincent, I have given you my all, but enough is enough. I’m done with this series. Done. By the end of this book, I literally wanted Kaylee to die. I’m so incredibly sick of her and her stupid emotions, and everything single word that exits her mouth sickens me… Okay, slightly melodramatic, but I mean it when I say that I am no longer going to read this series. What Kaylee did to Nash with Tod – and everybody who read this book knows what I am talking about – is not acceptable in any universe. And with Nash’s brother. NO! Not okay. That’s it, I’m stopping. This isn’t healthy.

***

And yeah… I stopped after that. I loved the first book, but I did not like what the author did with the rest of the series. If you have to add a super weird love triangle to try and keep things entertaining, I think you’re doing something wrong. Bear in mind, however, that this is just my opinion.

And even though I’ve maybe said some not very nice things about Rachel Vincent, publishing a series is a huge accomplishment, and the first book is awesome.

But still, this series has made me slightly catatonic, and I hate it.

See you later, and I hope I haven’t made you as depressed as me.

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

