Love and Other Perishable Items – Laura Buzo

Love and Other Perishable Items (aka Good Oil)

By Laura Buzo

Genre: YA Fiction / Romance

Reading Level: Easy / Medium

Pages: 256

Review: 4 / 5

Synopsis:

“A wonderful, coming-of-age love story from a fresh new voice in YA fiction.

‘Miss Amelia Hayes, welcome to The Land of Dreams. I am the staff trainer. I will call you grasshopper and you will call me sensei and I will give you the good oil. Right? And just so you know, I’m open to all kinds of bribery.’

From the moment 15-year-old Amelia begins work on the checkout at Woolworths she is sunk, gone, lost…head-over-heels in love with Chris. Chris is the funny, charming, man-about-Woolies, but he’s 21, and the 6-year difference in their ages may as well be 100. Chris and Amelia talk about everything from Second Wave Feminism to Great Expectations and Alien, but will he ever look at her in the way she wants him to? And if he does, will it be everything she hopes?” (Goodreads)

Opinion:

A cover image of Love and Other Perishable Items
A cover image of Love and Other Perishable Items

Good morning / afternoon / evening everyone! Today, I will be introducing Love and Other Perishable Items, and let me tell you, it is as cute as the title would have you believe. “A wonderful, coming-of-age love story,” indeed!

There are love stories, and then there are the real love stories. The ones that do not sugar coat it, the ones that attempts to explain the weird cacophony of feelings that humans are subjected to when in love. This love story is the latter.

What I think I liked most about it was how imperfect it was. It really, honestly, tries to show how people make mistakes, and how not everything is lovey dovey all the time. It is great in that sense, and I think that if anyone has ever had a real crush on somebody, they read this story.

One of the major “themes” of this story is how love really knows no boundaries (CLICHÉ ALERT!). Their age for instance; it’s in the way and it makes everything more complicated, but there is still this love between them. Love doesn’t care if you’re 15, and he’s 21.

SPOILER ALERT! SPOILER COMING UP!

*** I’m going to briefly talk about the ending of the novel, and so if you don’t want to read it, I urge you to stop reading now.

I really liked how it ended, which surprises me because I am all for love conquers all in romance novels. However, the fact that they didn’t end up together is something that doesn’t always happen, but in this case it was the right thing. Yes, love doesn’t care about the age complication, but society does. As well as all of the reasons that Chris mentions.

*** Continuing with non-spoiler bits.

All in all, I really like this book. Sometimes, I thought it was a little weird and meh, which is why I give it a 4 / 5 and not a 5 / 5.

I think every teenage girl (and maybe even guy) ought to read this book.

Have a perfectly superb day!

/Emilia

P.s This novel is also known as Good Oil, but that’s a sucky title in my opinion, which is why I chose the other one.

Leave a Reply

