New Year, New Books

Hello everyone! With 2014 a-go, it is time to look at the books that we are so eagerly awaiting. So, without further ado, I present my 5 most highly anticipated books of 2014. 

1. Silver Shadows by Richellle Mead

  1. Considering how much I have been ranting about this series, it shouldn’t come as such a surprise that this is the book that I am most excited about. Not only did the previous book end in a humongous cliffhanger (*internally screaming), but also, this is such a brilliant series that it would still be #1, even if it didn’t end in a cliffhanger.
The cover image of Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead
The cover image of Silver Shadows by Richelle Mead

2. City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

  1. Oh, Cassandra Clare, you have led us through death and back, and I am so eager for this final book. I’m sorry; I am really looking forward for this book, because then the series will be over. Clare has stretched this book from 3 books to 6, and I don’t know if I can really take it anymore. But I still need to read it, to find out what happens. Which I salute her for, because it is really hard to keep your readers interested for 6 books.
An image of the cover of City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare
An image of the cover of City of Heavenly Fire by Cassandra Clare

3. Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

  1. So, did I like the first book of the series? YES. I loved it. Did I like the second book of the series? NO. I did not like it. Will I still read the third one? Yes. I am willing to risk tremendous heartbreak over this book, because I have hope that Mafi won’t do a “Roth” and kill off everything you like about the books. I’ve read a lot of these kinds of books, and I’ve grown slightly tired of them… but whom am I kidding? I will never stop reading YA novels.
A cover image of Ignite Me
A cover image of Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

4. Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

  1. I discovered Briggs a few years ago, and have remained a devout fan ever since I read her first book. Sometimes, they may become a little dull, and I don’t even know why I find them boring. They’re really exciting, and a lot of action happens in Briggs’ books, but for some reason they just have this slightly tedious quality, occasionally. However, this quality is only present in some of the books – mainly, I adore everything she writes. To summarize, I am really looking forward to the eight installment of Mercy Thompson.
A cover image of Night Broken by Patricia Briggs
A cover image of Night Broken by Patricia Briggs

5. Be With Me by J. Lynn

  1. Surprisingly, a book that is not part of a series! Well, sort of, but not technically. I loved Wait for You, it was the perfect romance story, and if you ever want to read a cute, seriously cute, book, then read that one. I love the whole cliché situation of having a troubled past, and then finding the guy that helps the girl to be become a happier individual. Hopefully this book will be as romantically adorable as the first one.
Cover image of Be With Me by J. Lynn
Cover image of Be With Me by J. Lynn

So, there you have it! These were only some of the books that I can’t wait for – there are about a thousand other books that I can’t wait for. I’m very excited for this year, even though it’s kind of already begun… Where does the time go?

Have a great year! And read lots of books!

/Emilia

Leave a Reply

