NaNoWriMo

Hello again, my fellow internet users! So, today, I thought I’d write a post about a project that I am truly passionate about: NaNoWriMo.

NaNoWriMo stands for National Novel Writing Month, and although the title is pretty self-explanatory, I’ll tell you about it, anyway. NaNoWriMo is when you write one novel in one month! Oh, such a shocker, I know.

But more seriously, however, it’s an annual, world-wide, internet-based, writing competition, where you have to write a 50, 000 word novel in November – and it’s probably the one time where the motto is, “Quantity over quality.”

Nobody determines if your novel is “publish-worthy,” it doesn’t matter how much you suck at writing, all you have to do is write write write!

This is the official logo for NaNoWriMo
This is the official logo for NaNoWriMo

I actually believe the official saying is, “Anybody can be a writer… if you set the bar low enough.” Which is true.

People like to romanticizes the notion of authors – of how inspiration strikes, and the writer just sits down, and out comes this wonderful, perfect story, with interesting and quirky characters, with an amazing plot… Ha, if only that were true.

“Don’t get it right, just get it written.”
-James Thurber

This is what NaNoWriMo does – it allows you to suck, without fear of consequences.

And now, I’ve romanticized NaNoWriMo. Yes, it is utterly brilliant and I love it, but the thing is, it is really, really hard. Like super hard. Like sitting in your room, 2 am, crying because you have to write and all you want to do is go to bed. Couple this with homework, and you’ve definitely had to terminate any kind of social life, as well as the will to ever write anything again.

If you complete it, then you will be so happy – mostly because you don’t have to write anymore. And as a NaNoWriMo survivor, I know what I’m talking about.

It sucks, and it is tough, but despite all of that, it is so worth it.

If you’re going to do NaNoWriMo, then you better start planning… Like, now.

Thanks for reading, and I’ll write to you later!

P.s. I checked, and the actual slogan is, “Thirty days and nights of literary abandon.”

______________________

So, do you still have any questions about NaNoWriMo? Any other NaNoWriMo survivors out there? Want some tips on how to write a novel in a month? Let me know in the comments section!

9 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo

  1. I am planning on participating in NaNoWriMo for the first time, and recently blogged about it on my blog. I look forward to hearing about your progress once November gets here.

  2. This year will be my first NaNo and I’m scared and anxious and very unaware of how difficult it will be. For inspiration, I’m posting a saying from one of my extremely verbose friends above my desk: “Why use 3 words when you can use 15?” Thanks for the insights! I look forward to the rising anxiety levels and blood pressure as November creeps closer.

    1. “Why use 3 words when you can use 15?” Ha – I literally laughed out loud. So true, after NaNoWriMo you’ll be an expert on how to write abundantly long sentences. NaNoWriMo is kind of tough, that’s true, but just keep the goal in mind and plan – that’s all of the advice I can give you. I wish you the best of luck!

  3. Writing a novel is on my big term bucket list and it sounds like a good idea to get it over in a month. Just remind me in November and we’ll see if I’m still this pumped to do it…

  4. The valuable nutrients of the whole grain have been removed.
    Xooma is a relatively new company that sells health and
    weight loss products through a network marketing business
    system. Upon completing the application, members are
    provides access to Xooma products at lowest prices and
    discounts, personalized website for promoting the business and the opportunity to
    earn commissions and rewards either by selling the products or selling the idea of the business to friends and acquaintances.

Leave a Reply

