Fiction vs. Fantasy

Hello! I address this post to all of my fellow writers out there. It’s a question that’s been on my mind for quite some time, and I need to solve it once and for all.

The question is as follows… fiction or fantasy? (Keep in mind, when I write “fiction,” I mean “realistic fiction”)

An image of the front cover of a realistic fiction novel.
An image of the front cover of a realistic fiction novel.

I’m planning my next novel, and I honest to God, can’t decide whether or not to write a fiction or  fantasy novel. Personally, I don’t really have a preference in terms of reading; any book, any time, anywhere, and I’m satisfied.

However, when I’m writing, I’m undecided. It’s not as if I don’t have a preference; I am… unsure, as well as the fact that my decision wavers every now and then.

Writing realistic fiction is somewhat better, in my opinion, because it is easier to make realistic. The reason why I don’t like to write fantasy is because it is so easy for your subject to become, well, ridiculous. And that is not exactly ideal for when you’re trying to write a more serious story.

agameofthronesnewhc
An image of the front cover of a fantasy novel.

Don’t get me wrong, there are thousands of amazing fantasy stories out there – I mean, there’s a reason why I’m considering writing a fantasy novel – but it is more prone to childishness than other stories.

I’m leaning towards writing a fantasy/paranormal story, simply because I have a really good plot for that genre, but if I come up with another plot for realistic fiction, I might use that one instead.

I’ll give you guys a synopsis later, when I’ve worked out the finer details.

Don’t Forget To Be Awesome, and I’ll talk to you later!

______________________

So, anybody else facing this dilemma? Do you agree with me? Disagree? Let me know in the comments section!

Leave a Reply

