“Vlogging” vs. “Blogging”

I am a member of my school’s Student Library Advisory (hereafter known as SLA), and during a the last meeting, we discussed the possibility of perhaps having “video-book-recommendations”. Talking about a book that we like/dislike, and then having that video shown in the library.

Of course, seeing as we’re all opposed to showing our faces in public, we’re not really sure what to do.

Now, I’m not going to ask you for advice, but it did get me thinking about this idea of vlogging vs. blogging.

For those of you who don’t know, vlogging is a kind of video blog – where the person in the video talks about different things, vloggermuch like a blog. Personally, I like vlogging – as a matter of fact, I watch several of them – but I would never personally do it. Why? Showing my face in public makes me anxious.

For some reason, it feels so much more revealing and personal when vlogging compared to writing. Sure, I’m still communicating my thoughts and feelings – like I would in any other blog – but no one sees me, and no one can judge my person, per say.

If you think about it, the people that vlog are almost more courageous than the people that blog – it’s easier to hide behind written words than your own face.

At least it is in my opinion.

If you want to check out any good vlogs, then I would suggest vlogbrothers or danisnotonfire on Youtube – these guys are hilarious.

Thanks for reading!

______________________

Do you agree with what I’ve written? Disagree? Want to add something? Let me know in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

